I’ve Seen Your Eyes

abs.jpg
A.B.S.

I’ve seen your eyes
bright, quick, full of instant
comprehension
Seen them clouded over
with a mist of unshed tears

I’ve seen your eyes
On the verge of wild
desperation
Seen them timid, standing
at the brink of untold years

I’ve seen your eyes
Bluer than the purest
flashing water
Seen them exhilarated,
laughing, confident, and sure.

But I haven’t
Read there triumph mingled
with surrender
Nor seen them, consummately
satiated, ask no more.

A.B.S., 1975-

Leave a Reply

